New Year’s Goal: New Job

So I am on the hunt for a new job.  I have been off and on for a number of years now with nothing panning out.  This year it’s going to be different!  I am going to find one!  I need to get out of my current one.  I have determined that I can take a significant pay cut and if I find a job closer to home will come out a head in the end with saving on gas.  Especially because it is rumored for gas to be over $5 by this summer here in Chicagoland.

I need to get out of my current job because I am on a slow sinking ship and like the cruise ship that just sank the top managers will bail out first and leave the rest of us to flounder around.  Its been hard to work with these two new clowns we have at the top they only seek to do things and make policy changes to make it easier for them not anyone else.

I hate that I hate getting up every morning  to go to my job.  I hate that it is a struggle to get out of bed because I don’t want to go to my current job.  I hate that I have work depression – every other part of my life is fine, I’m happy with it but one – work!

I want a job that I am happy to go to.  I want something different to wake up to every day.  I’m over the fact I won’t have a career – too old and too far out of college and away from what I got my degree in to worry about a career at this point.  I wish I could go back to school to learn a skill.  The only thing I got going for me is really nothing (yeah I know what a way to sell myself).  I am good with computers, I work on excel spreadsheets and word etc, every day.  I’ve created power point presentations for trainings and conducted trainings but I don’t have anything that makes me stand out, that makes me different than everyone else out there also looking for a job.  Its kind of disheartening to keep getting no where to never get called back.  Its hard when every job posting wants years of experience or qualifications I don’t have.  Or its hard when most of the job postings are for part time work or for $10 per hour or less.  I don’t want to totally waste the 10 years I’ve been where I’ve been and go totally backwards in pay.  Plus I have to make enough to pay bills and live.  I did have one call back one time but I didn’t accept because I found out it was selling life insurance, and I’m not a sales person that I definately know.

I wish I didn’t still have college loans to pay for a degree that I’m not using.  I wish I didn’t have all the other debt in my life so I could go back to school and learn something else to do with my work life.  I just wish for a new job!

 

Leave a Reply

