The Happy Wanderer I am not

Nope not even close.  I am a planner not a wanderer!  Got that from my dad although I am not as severe as him.  When planning a trip I plan everything from what to do to places to eat, etc.  We are going out of town in June and I’ve already planned out things to do, places to see, and where to eat.  But I’m ok if all these things don’t pan out or we don’t see or do it all.  I’m really ok with that, I just enjoy the planning part.  (Maybe I should think about a career change.)  My dad on the other hand is a bit neurotic about trips.  He doesn’t get too involved in the what to do, see, or eat part (although him and I were the ones that pretty much planned out our Yellowstone trip a few years back.)  He is neurotic about the getting there part.  He has check points along the way.  He knows how long the drive should take, how much gas we need, where to stop to get gas or switch drivers if it is a long trip.  And we don’t deviate from it!!  I remember as a kid if we needed to go to the bathroom outside a designated stop my dad got all bent out of shape and we stopped on the side of the road.  My mom would open the front and back passenger side doors and help  us do our business.  So we learned quickly growing up you always tried to go to the bathroom when we were stopped even if you didn’t have too.  But we had great family trips as a kid due to my parents planning and I hope to provide that for my kids too.

I’ve tried to learn that it is not only about the destination it is about the journey too.

9 thoughts on “The Happy Wanderer I am not

  1. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  2. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  3. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  4. B.Kaotic says:

    […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  5. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  6. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  7. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  8. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

  9. […] The Happy Wanderer I am not | Jennifer Paige […]

Leave a Reply

